Frequent FloodingFlooding level    Slide show

In the Urdenbacher Kämpe nature reserve in contrast to most other riverine areas there are no dikes to prevent the River Rhine from overflowing its banks. Since the wetlands retain the surplus water, this provides natural flood protection for the towns and cities further downstream.

Regular flooding gives rise to a typical wetland habitat characterized by fluctuating water levels. This is important for "specialized" plants that like to get their feet wet. Rare plants including burnet and autumn crocus flourish in the nature reserve's wet meadows.
The flood map shows the areas subject to frequent flooding. At nearly all of the information panels in the nature reserve, you will find flood-level marker posts documenting particularly high floods.

Between Rhine and Old Rhine

The nature reserve is bordered by the Rhine on one side and the Rhine's old bed on the other, which runs right along the outskirts of Düsseldorf. Seven hundred years ago the great river had its bed where today the Old Rhine is only a small stream. A particularly high flood in 1374 caused the river to change its course.
Search:
Auenblicke Auenkarte
Vogelstimmen
Diaschau Auenblicke
AuenErlebnisBegleiter
Auen-Media
Our partners
Aueneblicke Förderer EU
Auenblicke Förderer NRW Ministerium

Vom Hochwasser geprägtHochwasserpegel    Diaschau

In der Urdenbacher Kämpe darf der Rhein noch seine Aue überfluten und wird nicht – wie fast überall – durch Deiche daran gehindert. Das ist natürlicher Hochwasserschutz für die Städte stromabwärts, denn die Wassermassen werden in der Aue zurückgehalten.

Gleichzeitig bleiben hier die typischen Auenlebensräume mit ihren wechselnden Wasserständen erhalten. Und ihre spezialisierten Bewohner profitieren davon. So gedeihen seltene Pflanzen wie großer Wiesenknopf und Herbstzeitlose in den wechselfeuchten Wiesen der Kämpe.
Die Überflutungskarte zeigt, welche Bereiche wie häufig überschwemmt werden. Überall im Gebiet finden sie außerdem Pegelpfosten an den Infotafeln. Sie weisen mit farbigen Markierungen auf besondere Hochwasserstände hin.

Zwischen Rhein und Altrhein

Die Kämpe ist vom Rhein und seinem ehemaligen Flussbett entlang des Siedlungsrandes eingerahmt. Wo vor 700 Jahren noch der Hauptstrom floss, nimmt heute der Urdenbacher Altrhein als Bach seinen Lauf. ein Extremhochwasser hat 1374 diese Rheinverlagerung ausgelöst.
Suche:
Auenblicke Auenkarte
Vogelstimmen
Diaschau Auenblicke
AuenErlebnisBegleiter
Auen-Media
Gefördert durch
Aueneblicke Förderer EU
Auenblicke Förderer NRW Ministerium