History - A Paradise ...

... for People, Plants, and Animals
Clouds of blossoms in spring and an abundance of delicious apples and pears in autumn make the meadow orchards an earthly paradise. This complex habitat provides food and shelter for numerous species of birds and insects. The unique landscape of Urdenbacher Kämpe has been shaped by generations of small farmers over centuries of human cultivation.
Auenblicke Streuobstwiesen NutzungAuenblicke Streuobstwiesen NutzungAuenblicke Streuobstwiesen Nutzung
Cultural heritage
Meadow orchards are a traditional form of fruit cultivation, an alternative to conventional plantations with their dwarf bush forms. Meadow orchards usually include a variety of standard cultivars of all ages. In the Urdenbacher Kämpe nature reserve, rows of poplars and pollard willows mark the old boundaries between the parcelled plots and remind us of the small farmers who used to work this land. Since land was usually divided up among a farmer's heirs, the individual parcels often ended up being very narrow indeed, as you will see along some of the roads in the nature reserve.

Cultural produce
Fruit trees are not wild plants, but the result of human cultivation. The ancestor of our domestic apple tree is a wild apple native to Kazakhstan. Pruning and training keeps fruit trees in shape, ensuring a long and productive life.

How to assemble a fruit tree
Fruit trees are usually propagated by grafting in nursery gardens in fact this means they are assembled from different parts! The rootstock determines how tall the tree is going to be; the scion wood is a shoot from the "target" cultivar.

Growing together
A sloping cut from the scion wood is joined to a similarly cut rootstock, ensuring maximum contact between their cambium layers. The joint is bound and treated with an airtight sealant which remains in place until the two cuts have grown together. That is how every young fruit tree starts its life.
Search:
Auenblicke Auenkarte
Vogelstimmen
Diaschau Streuobstwiesen
AuenErlebnisBegleiter
Auen-Media
Our partners
Aueneblicke Förderer EU
Auenblicke Förderer NRW Ministerium

Nutzung - Paradies ...

... für Mensch und Natur
Wahrhaft paradiesisch ist die Blütenpracht der Streuobstwiesen im Frühling und die Vielfalt schmackhafter Äpfel und Birnen im Herbst. Zudem findet eine Vielzahl von Insekten und Vogelarten in dem besonders strukturreichen Lebensraum Nahrung und Unterschlupf. Entstanden ist diese wertvolle Kulturlandschaft in der Urdenbacher Kämpe durch die jahrhundertelange kleinbäuerliche Bewirtschaftung.
Auenblicke Streuobstwiesen NutzungAuenblicke Streuobstwiesen NutzungAuenblicke Streuobstwiesen Nutzung
Kulturgut
Die Streuobstwiese ist eine traditionelle Form des Obstbaus, im Unterschied zum Niederstamm-Obstbau in Plantagen. Auf Streuobstwiesen stehen verschiedene Sorten hochstämmiger Obstbäume von meist unterschiedlichem Alter. Pappelreihen und Kopfweiden markieren im Gebiet der Urdenbacher Kämpe die alten Flurstücksgrenzen und zeugen von der ehemals kleinbäuerlichen Nutzung. Durch die gängige Aufteilung des Landbesitzes unter mehreren Hoferben wurden die Parzellen oft sehr schmal, wie entlang einiger Straße im Gebiet gut zu erkennen ist.

Kultur-Produkt
Ein Obstbaum ist keine Wildpflanze, sondern eine gezüchtete Kulturpflanze. So stammt der heutige Kulturapfel von einem Wildapfel aus Kasachstan ab. Durch Schnitt und Pflege erhalten Obstbäume eine Struktur, die zu Langlebigkeit und reicher Ernte führt.

Obstbaum-Bausatz
Obstbäume werden durch die Methode der Veredelung schon in der Baumschule aus mehreren Teilen zusammengesetzt. Die Wuchskraft der Wurzelunterlage bestimmt dabei die Größe des Baums. Die gewünschte fruchtende Sorte wird darauf "veredelt".

Zusammen wachsen
Ein speziell zugeschnittener Zweig der Edelsorte wird der Obstbaumwurzel, die als Unterlage dient, quasi "unter die Rinde geschoben". Die Stelle wird luftdicht umwickelt, bis beide zusammengewachsen sind. So startet jeder junge Obstbaum.
Suche:
Auenblicke Auenkarte
Vogelstimmen
Diaschau Bürgeler Wiesen
AuenErlebnisBegleiter
Auen-Media
Gefördert durch
Aueneblicke Förderer EU
Auenblicke Förderer NRW Ministerium