The Old Rhine - Flowing in an Unmade BedSlide show

The stream which visitors to the nature reserve know as the Old Rhine joins the River Rhine at Urdenbach. But its headwaters are in Solingen where, to confuse matters even more, it is called Garather Mühlenbach. The stream changes its name when it reaches the riparian wetlands because from this point on it flows in the Rhine's old bed, the one before the river altered its course in 1347. In the 1950s two ditches and a low dike to control summer flooding were made along the Old Rhine, confining it to a very tidy bed on the north side of the dike. The aim was to protect the adjoining meadows, but one of the side effects was the degradation of the natural habitat.
Auenblicke AltrheinAuenblicke AltrheinAuenblicke Altrhein
In recent decades, streams and rivers all over Europe have been restored to their natural state. The new course of the Old Rhine is an unusual example of stream restoration. Between August 2013 and April 2014, two 20-metre-wide breaches were made in the 1950s dike, one at the Düsseldorf suburb of Hellerhof and the other at Urdenbach. The Old Rhine now flows along the left side of the dike for a stretch of 2.5 kilometres. Wooden footbridges spanning the breaches enable visitors to observe the changes that unfold as the Old Rhine gradually settles into its unmade bed. The aim is for a low-gradient stream to develop which will absorb flood flows during the Rhine's high water periods. Tench, pike, and other fish species will find safe spawning beds here.

The lead partner in the project is the City of Düsseldorf. The Haus Bürgel Eco Centre is supporting the project with scientific expertise and public relations work, while the local water authority has supervised the excavations and construction. Major funding was supplied by the Nordrhein-Westfalen-Stiftung a state foundation supporting conservation, local history, and culture projects and the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia.
Search:
Auenblicke Auenkarte
Vogelstimmen
Diaschau Altrhein
AuenErlebnisBegleiter
Auen-Media
Our partners
Aueneblicke Förderer EU
Auenblicke Förderer NRW Ministerium

Altrhein - Ins ungemachte BettDiaschau

Aus Solingen und Hilden kommt der Garather Mühlenbach und fließt in Höhe Düsseldorf-Hellerhof in die Rheinaue. Er folgt ab hier dem Verlauf eines alten Rheinbettes und ändert gleichzeitig seinen Namen: Urdenbacher Altrhein. In den 1950er Jahren wurden im Bereich des Altrheins ein Sommerdeich sowie zwei Entwässerungsgräben angelegt. Mit dem Deichbau wurde der Urdenbacher Altrhein auf die nördlich gelegene Deichseite verlegt und linienhaft ausgebaut. Das damalige Ziel war es, die angrenzenden Wiesen vor Sommerhochwasser zu schützen. Der Altrhein büßte dadurch jedoch seinen ökologischen Wert ein.
Auenblicke AltrheinAuenblicke AltrheinAuenblicke Altrhein
Doch inzwischen werden europaweit viele Fließgewässer renaturiert, ein außergewöhnliches Beispiel hierfür ist der neue Lauf des Altrheins. Zwischen August 2013 und April 2014 wurde der oben beschriebene Deich an zwei Stellen in Höhe der Düsseldorfer Stadtteile Hellerhof und Urdenbach auf jeweils ca. 20 m Länge geöffnet. Holzbrücken überspannen die Öffnungen und geben den Blick frei auf die neue Entwicklung des Altrheins. Dieser fließt nun auf einer Länge von 2,5 km linksseitig des Deiches. Dort wird sich allmählich ein typisches Niederungsfließgewässer entwickeln. Zugleich können die kleinen Rheinhochwässer wieder ungehindert in die Aue strömen. Schleie, Hecht und andere Fischarten finden hier neue Laichplätze.

Projektträger ist die Stadt Düsseldorf. Die Biologische Station hat das Projekt fachlich begleitet und sich umfassend an der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit beteiligt. Die Baumaßnahmen am Gewässer wurden vom Bergisch Rheinischen Wasserverband umgesetzt. Wichtige finanzielle Förderer sind die Nordrhein-Westfalen-Stiftung und das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen.
Suche:
Auenblicke Auenkarte
Vogelstimmen
Diaschau Altrhein
AuenErlebnisBegleiter
Auen-Media
Gefördert durch
Aueneblicke Förderer EU
Auenblicke Förderer NRW Ministerium